Week 3 was quite the roller coaster actually.  I made it out for 3 runs this week and had to brave the wintery elements here in Ohio.

Tuesday - 3 miles - Out and Back (29:51 - 9:57 pace)
This was actually one of my best runs ever in my life for multiple reasons.
1.  I finally broke 30 minutes.  I've done that on a treadmill, but not actually on the road.
2.  My 3rd mile was in 8:35!!!  I don't think I've ever ran a mile that fast in my life.  Not even in high school.  Now, it was quite windy and the wind was at my back during this portion of the run, but I felt like I was flying! 

I had to run down the busy road by my apartment which I kind of like to do when I'm sick of the loop around here.  I normally run down on the left side of the road, touch the street pole, and then turn around and head back.  I eventually cross to the left side once traffic thins out.  Well this time there was TONS of traffic and I never got the opportunity to cross.  Maybe braving the traffic helped me run a bit faster so as to get off the busy road, but it was pretty awesome. 

**Thanks to whoever decided to chop up the fallen tree that was on the berm.  It made my life much easier.
**A big NO THANKS to the creeper that decided to honk at me 3 times.  EEK

Thursday - 6 miles - Tempo Run - Blacklick Woods (1:06:30 - 11:05)
I had the brilliant idea to bring my running gear to work and head out to Blacklick Woods.  I thought it was much closer than it actually is.  However, I did not realize that it was supposed to start snowing pretty much as soon as I was planning on running.  As I started out the trail was a bit snow covered from some early afternoon snow, but it wasn't too bad.  By mile 2 some flurries started to fall, and then mile 3 it was a snowy downpour.  I was supposed to run 3 miles at a Tempo of 10:50.  I decided I was going to do a 2 mile warm up, 3 miles a Tempo, and then a 1 mile cool down.  I managed to do the warm up pretty slow.  Tempo miles were at 10:48, 10:47, and 10:35.  Then by the cool down mile it was snowing like crazy.  Snow was in my eyes and I could barely see so I decided that the last mile I just wanted to get back to the car...so I ran it in 10:41. (OOPS!)  It was kind of fun running while it was snowing, but the black ice was hard to avoid and I'll have to find a way to keep the snow out of my eyes.  It then took me 45 minutes to get home, I took the world's fastest shower, then met Janene for dinner at Hounddogs!  I felt much less guilty eating pizza after running 6.  :)

Sunday - 13.1 miles - Long Run - Around Campus Area (2:43:53 - 12:31)
I don't know if I'm mentally prepared to talk about this run.  Janene and I were STRUGGLING!  We started out just north of campus and went down the Olentangy Trail for a while.  It was a frozen slushy mess and we were less than excited about it.  After about 2 miles we found a random parking lot that was nice and clear so we decided to take a lap around it for some solid ground.  We then decided to walk up to Olentangy Road and ran up to King.  By this point we were pretty aware that this was going to be a crazy run and once again it was Choose Your Own Adventure Sunday!  As we headed down King the path we were going to get back on was blocked off by a fence, so we scaled our way down a snowy hill and ran back up the slushy path we were on before.  (NOT FUN)  Now we found ourselves back at the car only 4 miles into the run.  We shed some layers and stretched a bit before heading back out.  This time we went North on the trail, but a detour caused us to venture off the path and onto the city streets.  The sidewalks were all slush and we were desperate for some dry land.  We had the bright idea to make our way down towards campus and run down High Street.  By this point we were just wandering aimlessly and decided to make a lap around The Ohio State University.  We were reminiscing about old times and discussing buildings that we spent many of hours in (or ones we were supposed to be in).  By the time we got to Mirror Lake (6 miles) we took a pitstop to use the bathroom and refuel with some Gu (I think Gu is growing on me, but I'm not completely convinced).  It was strange being back in there, but good memories.  We criss-crossed our way across campus and back up High Street.  At mile 10 I dropped Janene back off at her car, ditched my hat, gained my iPod and set out for the last 3 miles.  I didn't want to venture too far, so I went back on the slushy trail for another jaunt next to the semi-frozen Olentangy River.  I got honked at by some Swan-Goose Hybrid that we previously nicknamed a Swoose and I somehow made it back to the car...all in one piece...without getting attacked by the Swooses (Sweese?).  I ended up absolutely frozen and happy it was over, but glad that we did it.  There were a few walk breaks to work out some aches and pains but in the long run I guess it was good...or something

Picture
The ridiculous 13.1 miles.
_I hope Janene's knee starts feeling better so we can keep running!  I know I wouldn't have even went on that run if I had to do it by myself.

Slapbet Total = 61 miles (Only 939 to go!)

Edit: Janene's update reminded me to post the ridiculous route we ran. :)
1/23/2012 09:17:26 am

Oh my gosh - parking lots, hill scrambling, and sweese. Holy moly, what a ridiculous run! :) The leg is feeling better - i think a few days off will do me just fine!

Reply



Leave a Reply.