It happens every time...whenever I'm on break from work I always have one night where I stay up RIDICULOUSLY late for no apparent reason.  I was trying really hard this time to not let my sleep get too far off track.  I made it until my last night of freedom and then it happened. 

All day I was dreading the run I had because winter finally decided to rear it's ugly head today and it snowed for the first time.  I usually love the snow, but I haven't quite embraced running in it yet.  After the debacle that was the Ohio State game today I decided to just go and get this over with.  I made my way to my apartment to change when I convinced myself that it would be a good idea to just do these "easy 3" on the treadmill at the my complex fitness center (I still haven't committed to joining a real gym since mine closed a month or so ago).  So I scurried over there with less than warm enough clothes just to realize that the only other guy I see consistently running around the neighborhood had already claimed the sole treadmill.  So I retreated back home and bundled up to run outside.  As I was about to leave I thought to myself, "WAIT! Today is Monday.  Mondays are rest days!"  I can't tell you the excitement I had when I realized what day it was and I didn't have to brave the elements!

I enjoyed the warmth of my apartments until I went to dinner and was preparing for a night in.  I came home and did some laundry, had some dessert (EEK), and started reading some of the running blogs that I've been following.  As I was reading them I started to feel guilty for bailing on my run...although technically it was a rest day.  Before I knew it midnight rolled around...then 1am...then 2am and I thought "Screw It!  I'm going to go run now...I bet that guy is done running by now."  So I put on my running gear, and ran to the fitness center.  The many hours my mom has spent watching TruTV has caused her to enlighten me on every young girl that has ever gotten kidnapped and the stupid things they do.  These stories were running through my head as I ran the 0.1 miles to where the treadmill awaits.  I made it in safely and made sure the door locked behind me.  I proceeded to close all of the blinds and turned on some ridiculous show on the TV.  I decided to run a 5k and managed to run my fastest 5k ever!  I guess the fear and desire to make it safely back home was motivation enough.  After the run I skated back across the ice and up the 2 flights of stairs in record time back to my apartment safe and sound.  :)  I don't think this will become a regular occurrence.  My apartment complex is relatively safe and all, but there are better ways of doing this.

That being said...since this ran happened at 2am does that count for my Tuesday run or do I have to run again when I get up?  I guess we'll see how I feel.  :)  Regardless, Week 6 of Marathon training has begun and I am 3 miles closer to winning the slap bet!



Leave a Reply.