I was really debating running today.  It's my 3rd day in a row...tomorrow is going to be 50 degrees...my long run is going to be on Sunday instead of Saturday.  BUT, I was scheduled to run 3 today, it was 45 degrees and sunny in Ohio on January 5th, and I really just wanted to run...so I did.  I decided I was sick of my neighborhood loop after running it so many times yesterday morning so I figured I'd run along the "busy road" outside of my apartment complex.  It's not the busiest road, but definitely not a neighborhood street.  This road is always an adventure.  It runs right along some railroad tracks on one side and a rock quarry on the other.  You never know what you are going to come across on this route.  Tonight was no exception. 

Tonight I had to:
  • Hurdle a dead raccoon
  • Avoid a fallen tree
  • Saw multiple random items along the side of the road (shoes, CDs, clothes etc. Do people just throw these things out the window?)
  • Smelled the lovely stench of what resembles mulch, although mulch is nowhere to be seen (and it always smells like this)
  • Got honked at twice...kind of weird
At the turn around point there was a bit of road construction, but I HAD to touch the street pole before I could turn around.  So I trudged my way through the mud, touched the pole, and made my decent for home.  Note to self...trying to run with loads of mud caked on your shoes really makes running a little extra difficult. 

I tried really hard to finish in under 30 minutes, but I had to settle for 30:07.  If I didn't have to waste time scraping mud off my shoes I probably would have made it...oh well...maybe next time!

In other news...today at school we had fun trying to convince 8th grade girls that Albert Einstein was not in Back to the Future.  Oh how I love my job! :)

EDIT: 11 miles down - 989 to go!




Leave a Reply.